04
Aug
09

Champion for Life?

Failgate London?

Failgate London?

Well Champions Online seems to be getting everyone worked up lately! Check out what Keen and Graev, Bio Break, and Player vs Developer had to say about Cryptic offering lifetime subscriptions for $199 and 6 month discounted subscriptions for $59.99…

The catch? You have to do it before the game comes out. That’s right before you get a chance to play the game, before you get a chance to judge if you enjoy the game, like the community, or any other number of factors that go into deciding if you wanna stick with a game or not. This seems really shady, and reeks of desperation. Why take this offer off the table after people play the game? It should be an option for AT LEAST a month after the game is released, but 3 months seems more reasonable personally. Also the price seems a little steep. I think I might be more willing to go for a lifetime subscription to a game if it were priced more around $150 range.

Something people should keep in mind with this whole deal though is that Bill Roper is one of the lead designers for Cryptic. The same Bill Roper who once was the CEO of Flagship Studios. Remember Hellgate London? Remember it’s Lifetime Subscription? Remember how well that turned out…yeah thought so. Now maybe everything is just fine over at Cryptic, and this isn’t really as desperate as it looks. I hope it is, and honestly things probably are just fine over there, but the track record here is definitely something to keep in mind.

As for the discounted six month subscription. Well that’s just brilliant! The price alone would be enough for me to want to take it, but add to that the extra goodies you get AND automatic beta invite to Star Trek Online too!? That’s something that I would jump on in a heartbeat if I were planning on pre ordering Champions. I wish NC Soft would do something like this for Aion as a matter of fact! (hint, hint)

3 Responses to “Champion for Life?”


  1. August 4, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    A life time subscription. That had honestly never occurred to me. In the long run it could end up being cheaper. But only if you actually play regularly for a long period of time.

    There have been games that I thought I was going to play for a while, years even, and then ended up playing for only a few months(WAR).

    Big money commitment. If I did it and then didn’t play, I would feel pretty crappy. I’d be interested if they had some kind of refund system. It wouldn’t work with the current model of “Give us 200 US dollars and you get to play the game until it ends”. But perhaps you buy yearly at a discounted rate and then if you cancel it, you get refunded for the months you didn’t use.

    I could see myself going for something like that.

    • August 4, 2009 at 10:47 pm

      Exactly if anyone did it, and ended up not playing I think they’d be pretty upset with themselves which really just begs the question, what is Cryptic thinking in not allowing players to try the game before taking this offer off the table? I mean honestly, at this point they’ve yet to even lift the NDA on the game which is set to release in less than a month…

      • August 5, 2009 at 3:43 am

        It’s bad marketing. Very bad. I’m guessing they have some internal politics issues going on. I can’t think of any other reason. Initial MMO sales rely on community hype and publicity. As it stands, most of my gamer friends don’t know anything about Champions online. The only ones among them that know anything about it are the core gamers who devote some of their free time to gaming news.

        I’m not optimistic about the game’s success and longevity.


Leave a Reply

Veksar’s Twitter

free counters

